COLUMBIA CITY — During a break in the Miss Whitley County program Monday, Whitley County 4-H Extension Educator Todd Geiger presented several 4-H members with awards and scholarships.

Justin Johnson was the recipient of many of those scholarships — the Extension Homemakers 4-H Scholarship, Lester and Joy Worrick Memorial Scholarship, the Indiana 4-H Foundation Senior Scholarship, the Farm Bureau Tenure Award and the Jim Teghtmeyer Memorial Award.

Johnson participates in the 4-H STEM Connection Program, is a Farm Show Development show committee member, serves Forklift meals, assists with Humane Society auctions, participated in the National Day of Service and the Garage Sale for Riley.

The Homemakers’ scholarship is sponsored by the Whitley County Extension Homemakers. The 4-H’ers must have completed at least five years of 4-H to be considered for the $500 scholarship.

The Lester and Joy Worrick Scholarship of $500 is awarded to a 10-year 4-H member who has post-secondary education plans.

The Indiana 4-H Foundation Senior Scholarship of $250 is based on scholastic ability, financial need and 4-H achievements.

The Jim Teghtmeyer Memorial Award is given in memory of the longtime businessman and former mayor of Columbia City. He was heavily involved in the community and served on numerous committees, volunteered in many areas and was a philanthropist. Recipients are judged on their community service in 4-H and other organizations, serving on committees and in leadership positions.

The Farm Bureau Tenure Award is given to two dedicated members from each county with the best record in terms of membership tenure and project participation. Ryder Sroufe also received the award.

Rozlyn Bishop and Isabel Hunter received the Helping Hands 4-H Endowment Scholarship of $500.

The B.V. Widney award is given in honor of one of the original staff members in Purdue Extension, and is given to 4-H’ers in grades 6-9. Jada Van Houten was the recipient of the award.

The Hester Adams Memorial Scholarship is given to the most outstanding 4-H members in the program. Applicants fill out a resume of skills, submit their record of achievement cards, answer an essay question and sit before a panel of three judges for an interview. Sroufe and Madison Schroeder were selected as Hester Adams Memorial Scholarship winners for $500.

The other two applicants were named 4-H Ambassadors: Lance Gaerte and Jaclyn Fries.