FUNDS FOR FUTURE FARMERS — 50 years ago, Garold Wright, cashier at the Churubusco State Bank, is shown presenting a bank donation for the Future Farmers of America to Dave Johnson, CHS student and president of the local FFA chapter. At left is Gary Wyckoff of Whitley County REMC, chairman of the county FFA Foundation fund drive. The FFA was very active locally, and a Smith Township boy, Steve Linvill, was president of the state organization.

One year ago

Whitko Community Schools’ Board of Trustees voted to close Whitko Middle School in Larwill and consolidate students to Whitko High School in South Whitley.

After 10 years of government service, Dan Sigler retired from his role as Whitley County attorney. To commemorate his decade of service, the Whitley County Commissioners surprised Sigler with a special presentation — designating the week of Dec. 18-23 as “The Honorable Dan Sigler Week.”

A 70-year-old Churubusco-born man was trying to find his family. John McGee was born Jan. 5, 1948, in Churubusco, the 13th child of a couple who could not afford any more children. He was informally adopted and only recently discovered the adoption.

Columbia City’s Common Council passed its first ordinance of the new year — an ordinance for no parking on the north side of Van Buren Street on the west side of the city between Walnut and McDonald streets.

Bradley Hagerman, from Churubusco, was pinned as a sonar technician chief petty officer in surface warfare.

Jordan Potter was the winner of the 2018 Indian Springs Middle School spelling bee and Lilliane Patterson was runner-up.

The Churubusco Plan Commission unanimously approved design plans by Keller Development, a company that planned to build a 35-unit apartment complex near the intersection of Pleasant and Mulberry streets in Churubusco.

For the first time in school history, Columbia City High School’s swim team won both the boys and girls Northeast 8 Conference matches. The boys took a landslide, 112-point win, and the girls won in a close, three-point battle over East Noble.

10 years ago

Churubusco’s Town Council voted to increase the water rates to help fund a new water treatment plant. The town received a $500,000 grant from the state to improve its water supply, including construction of a new building that would house treatment equipment. To qualify for the grant, Churubusco had to raise its water rates to be comparable to surrounding communities.

All of the 2008 Churubusco Chamber of Commerce officers were reinstated for 2009. Officers were: President Jim Horne, Executive Secretary Dee Dee McCoy, Secretary Beth Brown, Vice President Christ Tomlinson and Treasurer John Schmidt.

The Community Foundation of Whitley County awarded the local American Red Cross a $10,000 emergency grant to address disaster needs of the community sustained during an ice storm.

Shawn and Toni Gage announced the birth of Lincoln Thomas, grandson of Nancy and Dennis Duggan of Columbia City.

15 years ago

Members of the Churubusco Town Council took their oaths of office — Chuck Mathieu, Viv Sade and Lea Ann Herron.

Churubusco High School was forming an athletic advisory committee composed of parents of athletes, a school board member and up to three other community members.

25 years ago

Temperatures in Whitley County dropped to 19 degrees below zero, creating havoc with frozen water lines, frostbite and hypothermia.

Patrick Gross, a sixth-grader, won the Churubusco Elementary School Geography Bee.

Natalie McPeek was the winner of the Churubusco Public Library’s Christmas Contest.

50 years ago

The Department of Transportation shifted the time zone boundary westward and put all except 12 of Indiana’s 92 counties in the Eastern zone. The ruling left six northwestern and six southwestern counties in the Central zone and paved the way for those 12 counties to follow tradition by observing daylight saving time during the six warm months each year. It would also permit the remaining 79 counties in the Eastern zone to stay on standard time when states east of Indiana went on daylight time. Indiana would observe uniform time, just as it had in the past.

Shelton’s IGA was selling two pounds of Red Cross macaroni for 39 cents, White Cloud toilet tissue for $1, a gallon of milk for 59 cents, Purex bleach for 29 cents and Betty Crocker cake mixes, three for 89 cents.

The Top 10 listing of shooters in the Whitley County Gun Club were: J. Bobilya, R. Jones, C. Spicer, N. Reiff, J. Cowan, V. Trier, K. Cleland, A. Kauffman, B. Jacobs and B. Yarnelle.

An all-star band of 125 outstanding Indiana high school musicians included three from Smith-Green Community Schools — Dennis Clouse, Mary Jo Mathieu and Susan Nunchuck — under the direction of Harry Fouts.

The Churubusco FFA placed ninth in the national Spotted Poland China junior judging contest in Lafayette. Mike Earnhart was the high individual scorer, followed by Gary Bonar, Dave Johnson, Roger Berry and Dale Zeigler.